Book Review: Caraval by Stephanie Garber

When the book first came out, there was so much hype that I wondered what in the world the book was about. I was quite unsure of the fact if it was a good read, because there have been several instances where there were bestsellers I didn’t like at all.

After a month of seeing Caraval posts on Instagram, I decided to find out what the book was about.

Here’s what is on the back of the book:

Okay, I have to admit, this totally got me. There’s nothing I like more than mysteries, and the mysterious air that this gave me almost gave me goosebumps.

So I started reading. I loved the start of the book, the way Stephanie Garber introduces the two sisters, Scarlett and Donatella Dragna. Their relationship as sisters is quite similar to the relationship I have with my elder sister, so it was quite enjoyable to read about.

But I think using the word “enjoy” for the next few chapters is not right. It was more like: loved. As the plot built up, all I couldn’t help but reading just one more chapter… till I finished the book.

Although, the main character, Scarlett is a bit dumb at times, the plot is very interesting. There were twists and turns I wasn’t quite expecting, especially in the end. It is filled with detailed descriptions of the scenes, especially the clothes they wear, which give a magical feeling to the entire thing.

Overall, I would say this book is a very interesting one! If you like mystery, adventure and a tiny pinch of romance, this book is a must read!

My rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

